Monday, July 22, 2019 Awards > Michael DeLeo  
About Us
Our Mission
Board of Directors
Our Bylaws
Education Foundation
Foundation Grant
Ken MacLeod Memorial Scholarship
Foundation Grant - Past Recipients
Ken MacLeod Memorial Scholarship - Past Recipients
Membership Application
Membership Categories
Membership Benefits
Certification Requirements
Certification Examinations
Certification Applications
Recommended Reading List
Distribution of Questions
SRA Sample Questions
SRT Sample Questions
SRS Sample Questions
Study Guide
Review Sessions
Recommended References
Logs and Narratives:
SRA Anesthesia Case Log - Example
Surgical Case Log - Example
SRA Narrative - Example
SRT Narrative - Example
SRS Narrative - Example
SRA Anesthesia Case Log
SRT & SRS Surgical Case Log
Continuing Education:
Continuing Education Requirements
CEU Report Form
Verification of CEU Program When Certificate is Not Provided
Surgical Procedure Training Documentation Form
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Certification Exam F.A.Q.
Exam Re-take Procedure
Email Certification Committee
Program and Registration
Hotel and Transportation
Abstract Guidelines
Abstract Submission
Poster Presentation Info
Exhibitor Info
2018 Exhibitors and Sponsors
2018 Wet and Dry Lab Sponsors
Previous Programs
C. William Hall
Jacob Markowitz
Barry Sauer
Andreas von Recum
Michael DeLeo
ASR Corporate Partners
Corporate Partner Program
Corporate Partner Levels
Join the Mailing List
Positions Wanted
Positions Available
Training Materials
Journal's Home Page
ASR Links
Member Login

Academy of Surgical Research :: Michael DeLeo Award

The Michael DeLeo award is presented to the individual that receives the highest score in the poster competition at our annual meeting. The poster committee scores the poster based on abstract, methodology and conclusions, as well as an oral presentation. After careful consideration the panel of judges scores each poster and the average of three scores is calculated. The highest score is announced at the awards luncheon and that individual is presented with the Michael DeLeo award.

Past Awardees

  • Darcy Gagne, SRS, RLATG, CVT, BS, 2018
    “Microporous Polysaccharide Hemosphere (MPH)-Based Surgical Hemostat Powder Does Not Interfere with Healing When Applied to a Surgically-Created Ovine Bone Defect”
  • Krista Schutt, 2018
    “Comparative Analysis of Hemostatic Agents in a Porcine Liver Biopsy Model”
  • Andree Lapierre, BS, CMAR, SRS, 2017
    “Evaluation of Two Surgical Models of Renal Failure in the Mouse: 3/4 and 5/6 Nephrectomy”
  • Shawn Kozlov, 2016
    "Surgical Approach to Creating an Adjustable Fractional Flow Reserve (FFR) in a Pig for MRI Perfusion Studies"
  • Marcus Carvalho, 2015
    "Local And Systemic Effects Of Fibrin* And Octyl-Cyanoacrylate** Adhesives Applied To Lung Lesions In Rabbits"
  • Brian Hanks, DVM, MS, ACLAM, 2014
    "Short-Acting & Long-Acting Buprenorphine Therapeutic Drug Levels Following Single Subcutaneous Administration in Diabetic Yucatan Miniswine"
  • Justin Prater, SRA, BS, 2013
    "Endoscopic Placement Of A Percutaneous Endoscopic Gastrostomy Feeding Tube In Juvenile Swine"
  • Michelle Lewis, 2012
    "Development of a Porcine Model to Study the Metabolic Consequences of Bile Diversion"
  • Nance Moran, 2011
    "Development Of An Arthroscopic In Situ Polymerization Technique For Cartilage Defect Repair In Goats"
  • Lisa Johnson, A. Murphy, J. Doherty, M. Wadanoli, 2010
    "Comparison of Buprenorphine and Fentanyl Transdermal Patch for Analgesia in New Zealand White (NZW) Rabbits Undergoing Unilateral Ulna Ostectomy"
  • Allison S. Parlapiano, Christopher Loewrigkeit, Carol Ann Keohane, Denise Visco, Emily Hickey, 2009
    "5/6 Nephrectomy: Comparison of Two Surgical Techniques in Male Sprague-Dawley Rat"
    Allison S. Parlapiano, Merck & Co, Department of Central Pharmacology, Rahway, NJ
  • Teresa Gleason, 2008
    "Ambulatory Continuous Intravenous Infusion Model for Pregnant Dutch Belted Rabbits"
    T. Gleason, T. Edwards, W. Miller, E. Sloter, D. Stump, C. Chengelis, WIL Research Laboratories, LLC, Ashland, OH
  • Timothy Edwards, 2007
    "Fluid Percussion: A Surgical Model of Brain Trauma in the Rat"
    T.R. Edwards, T.R. Gleason, C.P. Chengelis, A.E. Radovsky, M.T. Herberth, WIL Research Laboratories, LLC
  • Scott Wingerter, 2006 (First Place)
    “Comparison of Two Different Fixation Techniques for a Segmental Defect in a Rat Femur Model”
    Scott Wingerter, Graham Calvert, Michelle Tucci, Audrey Tsao, George Russell and Hamed Benghuzzi
  • Laura Franklin, 2006 (Second Place)
    “The Effects Of Growth Factors On Cellular Phospholipids”
    Laura Franklin, ShaDonna Jefferson, Michelle Tucci, Hamed Benghuzzi, and Rodney Baker, University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson, MS
  • Tina Martin, 2006 (Third Place)
    “Comparison of Bolus Administration of L-Dopa with Sustained Delivery of L-Dopa on dopaminergic neurons”
    Tina Martin, Hamed Benghuzzi and Michelle Tucci, University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson, MS

15490 101st Ave. N., Suite 100 | Maple Grove, MN 55369 | Tel: 763.235.6464
All Contents ©2017 Academy of Surgical Research | Design by CustomFit Computer